Blouse vs shirt

Home Forums Women’s Fashion Tips Blouse vs shirt

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  nobodyknowsimherr 3 weeks, 6 days ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Nana

So I searched for this before posting, but what’s the difference between a blouse and a shirt? I just got a promotion, but I work in a warehouse. So it’s not like an office setting. There’s a LOT of walking and I need to be able to move around. The dress code leaves me with two options: polo shirt or blouse. I’m not a huge fan of polo shirts and I don’t really want to wear the same thing everyday (like different colored polo shirts) but I also need to be able to wear casual pants/ jeans/khakis with walking shoes. Any suggestions?

nobodyknowsimherr

I think blouse is an older/dated term describing a non-casual shirt.

Search “women’s tops” (or for younger ladies, “misses tops”) and you usually can pick between casual and business styles

LittleMsSavoirFaire

I doubt your workplace has a formal definition in mind. It seems to me that since the dress code is tied to a promotion, they basically mean “dress a cut above the average worker”. Basically this means that the most casual options are now off the table, but since they specifically allow polos (barely a cut above t-shirts and plenty casual imo) then just figure out what makes you look like a supervisor and not an ordinary worker drone.

Polos are not the most stylish options but most everything else will likely be some combination of too formal or impractical, unless you find some button-downs in a durable fabric. Duluth or carhartt probably have some options. [Example](https://www.basspro.com/shop/en/Carhartt-Force-Ridgefield-Shirt-for-Ladies?hvarAID=shopping_googleproductextensions&gclid=CjwKCAjwx7DeBRBJEiwA9MeX_JBjj4XnKJ2bJwWXsa6khNaNhzMfFg08NKJS4QOY7H3NrUzpUEL5uxoChUoQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds)