Ladies in lab, how do you dress?

Home Forums Women’s Fashion Tips Ladies in lab, how do you dress?

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  valde0n 2 weeks, 4 days ago.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author

Nana

I’m a grad student starting in a new research lab. I was kinda looking to upgrade my style to put together but casual, as opposed to messy student. However, being involved in research means that I have to stick to long pants, close toed shoes, and for me personally, nothing loose in the wrist area. Besides this lab is a super casual environment, my lab is mostly male and it probably ranges from jeans and t shirt to jeans and a button up in terms of formality. I was just wondering if other ladies in academia had something worked out.

valde0n

one of my favorite parts about being in academia is that you can wear whatever you want from day to day. my PI sometimes comes in wearing joggers and a hoodie.

for reference, i work in a crystallography lab and my bench and work desk are in the same space. i do wet and dry experiments and frequent the cold room.

most graduate students in my department wear jeans and flannel shirts (or some iteration of that look). i haven’t changed my style of dressing at all. i wear overalls, boiler suits, white shirts and jeans, bandanas, sweatshirt over a tee, dress pants and a striped shirt. mostly just whatever i feel comfortable in and what i can do work in. i’m there long enough i should feel good.

some observations that i have made being in the lab for a while now:

* never wear shoes you aren’t comfortable ruining. your lab coat will not protect your shoes. i keep a pair of new balance under my desk for this reason (or if i forget to bring proper foot ware).