Looking for winter jacket advice

Home Forums Men’s Fashion Looking for winter jacket advice

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  samiam32 1 week, 4 days ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Rob
    Keymaster

Looking for winter jacket advice

samiam32

If you’re from a tropical country, note that to combat the cold, you will want more than just a jacket/coat. You will want warm socks, gloves, hat, and maybe a scarf. Folks from warm climates tend to run colder when they come up north… but with the right clothes, you’ll be in good shape.

septicgeek

Hello, this is my first time posting here so please let me know if I make a mistake.

I am going to be starting University in the US (located in New Jersey) this January. Since I live in a tropical country I have little to no experience buying a winter jacket. The region I am moving to experiences regular snowfall and sub-zero temperatures. My budget is around 100-200 USD (I am not sure if this budget is too low, like I said I have 0 experience buying winter clothing. But if possible I would like to remain in this price range). I have a friend in the US who is travelling home (to my country) so shipping is no issue.

Advice regarding sizing – I understand people buy larger sizes since they wear layers – is appreciated. Any other advice/suggestions are welcome too!

Thanks in advance!

Before reporting me for reposting a question whose answers exist please consider that all those answers are either out of my budget or don’t explain the basics of choosing a winter jacket.

snicub

I’m from nj! Which college are you going to if you don’t mind me asking? Also, your budget is fine and I think that uniqlo’s ultra warm down jacket will fit your needs. Super dry also has good jackets.

Orange-V-Apple